Posted in Writing, YA books, YAlit

Behold the Awesome: International Covers of Bestselling Young Adult Books

In addition to being an author, I’m also a blogger over at BookBub. I recently did a post for them about international covers for bestselling books, and as a person completely obsessed with book covers (book covers are art!), I thoroughly enjoyed compiling the images for the article. The article got me pondering what international covers look like for some of my favorite YA novels and one thing led to another and suddenly I was compiling images in canva.com to share on my blog. Take a look at these international beauties!

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
The Fault in Our Stars

 Not sure which is my favorite. Maybe the first international one. Number three looks like a Jodi Picoult novel.

 

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

 

Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

 The US cover is my fave! Followed by the third of the international covers. Number four seems too scifi.

 

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Saint Anything by Dessen

Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

 None of these covers captures how good the book is, imho:)

 

Simon versus the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon Versus the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Albertalli

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

The second international cover rocks my world for some reason, but I also love the US version!

I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

 The third international cover for the win! It’s so bright and shiny!  If you haven’t read this book you need to! It is one of the best books I’ve ever read!

 

Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angel fall by Susan Ee

 I love the third international cover! The fourth one looks like an MG novel to me.

 

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

These are some of my favorite international covers! Especially the middle one!

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

 The US version is my favorite followed by the fourth international cover.

 

Talon by Julie Kagawa

Talon by Julie Kagawa

Talon by Julie Kagawa

I love this green cover with the dragon eye!

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Wow, these are so very different from the US version in tone. The US one is starkly beautiful by comparison. That said, I kinda love the international one in the middle!

Shatter Me by Tahareh Mafi

Shatter Me by Tahareh Mafi

Shatter Me by Tahareh Mafi

I love the US version! Gorgeous and so much better than the original one with the girl in the white dress.

The Thousandth Floor by Katherine McGee

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

The Thousandth Floor by Katherine McGee

I think I like the international covers for The Thousandth Floor more than the US one. The US one seems a bit bland by comparison.

 

Which of these international covers do you love?

Leave a Reply

